The Adventure Begins!

My adventure begins in Atlanta, Ga with my daughter, Megan!

Me and Megan

I was searching for a place to take my TEFL certificate (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) and I found Teaching House in Atlanta. I was thrilled to have the chance to spend 4 weeks with Megan!

Rewind to March, 2013:
I am staying in Little Rock, Arkansas, with my dear friend, Nancy Roy, a lovely lady whom I had tutored in Spanish several years before. She obtained her second university degree at the age of 75, and I was fortunate enough to be in the right place at the right time without a home of my own, and I ended up living in her home in January of this year. What a lucky girl I was, living with the coolest lady I know, enjoying home-cooked meals every day and partaking in witty chatter each evening during “wine time.” How much better does it get? Then our friend Krista moved in (temporarily), and so Nancy’s home soon turned into a sorority house of sorts. What fun times we had then, singing to the Chicago soundtrack. Ah, good times, good times. So one day Nancy says, out of the blue, “If I could speak Spanish, I would totally be traveling the world or living in a Latin-American country teaching English!” Whoa! It hit me like a brick! What was stopping me from doing this?? Nothing! I was going through a divorce, had no home, no furniture, no pets, my kids were grown…. what was stopping me??

3 of us

Me, Krista and Nancy

By the end of the evening, I had found Teaching House in Atlanta, GA and decided to get my certificate with the CELTA program. It was an expensive course, but CELTA appeared to be the most recognized and respected TEFL program, and they offered it in Atlanta, which meant I wouldn’t have to pay housing. The course began exactly 3 days after the end of my contract year with my current teaching job, and I would get to stay with my daughter for 4 weeks! I was stoked! My adventures were changing from a dream to reality……

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Adventure Begins!

  1. Kristen says:

    Can’t wait to read more!! To more great travels, my friend. 🙂

  2. mamitasarah says:

    Querida Gina, ¡¡¡Me encanto que estás escribiendo sobre tu nueva aventura!!! 🙂

  3. Marsha Kinsman says:

    You go girl! What an adventure! Thanks for keeping me in the loop!

  4. Linda L. Wallace says:

    Gina, you are a fascinating and amazing young woman! So intelligent, witty, talented, brave, pretty, the list just goes on! I will enjoy following your new adventures and thanks for sharing with us!

  5. belliott7756 says:

    Can’t wait to see you!!

  6. dawna905 says:

    I love the new blog! Perfect way for us to vicariously “adventure” with you!

    • Hey BFF! Thanks for the comment. 🙂
      Yes, that’s kind of the whole idea. I wanted to share my travels, but only with those that have an interest, and this blog allows me to do that!

  7. Barbara Moore says:

    So glad your enjoying your new adventure. Life is short so don’t waste a moment of it. We miss your smiling face at bop club.

  8. WOOHOOO! I’m so excited to read about all of your adventures! So inspiring! Love you! 🙂

  9. Ahhhh, I’m relaxed just looking at the pictures. I look forward to seeing the ones Johnny takes! ❤

Leave a Reply

