How I lost all my money :(

Well I never expected my first post from Buenos Aires to be like this, but here goes….

As I got ready to board my flight in Miami, I was one of the last people on the plane. Unfortunately by then there was no more room in the overhead bins, so they took and tagged by carry-on and my personal item. I was hurriedly trying to figure out what in the two bags I might need before I got to Buenos Aires. So I rummaged through trying to put a few last minute things in my small purse before they took them. The flight left on time, and we landed in Atlanta. If you’re familiar with the Atlanta airport, you know how huge it is and that you have to catch the tram for connections because your connection is never in the same terminal as the one you arrive in! So I’m on the tram going from A to F and looking for my wallet. Hm, not there. I pulled everything out of my purse and it was not there. I felt my heart sink to my feet. I almost couldn’t breathe. I immediately got off of the tram and went back to terminal A. Fortunately, my flight had already been delayed an hour and a half. “This will give me time to go back and find my money,” I thought. I raced back to the gate that I had arrived at. By this time I was almost crying. I asked the girl if the plane was still there and she said that it was. I explained my situation and asked if I could go look for the wallet. She didn’t let me, but asked my seat number and went to look herself. Obviously it was not there. People around me were looking at me with pity as I broke down right there at the gate, emptying my entire purse again. How could this have happened? How stupid was I to lose my wallet containing all the money I had in the world? Why hadn’t I been more careful?

Well, I was devastated to say the least. I went to Customer Service and left my phone number in case anyone turned something in (right!) and got information for submitting a claim with Delta online after my arrival. I debated whether to even continue on to Buenos Aires, so I called Savanah, the lady with whom I am staying in Buenos Aires, and she encouraged me to go ahead and continue. She agreed to lend me a little money and told me I had to come. Besides, all my luggage was going to be in Buenos Aires the next morning, and if I didn’t go, I could also add $1000 plane fare to my losses. So, with heavy heart, I decided to keep going. Needless to say, it was difficult for me to enjoy anything about the flight after that point. The hardest part was going to be telling family and friends what I let happen to me. “Why didn’t you do this? Why didn’t you do that? How could you…?” It was nothing I hadn’t already asked myself.

So now I will have to “regroup” and be more creative in my endeavors. I will be here for two more weeks after Savanah leaves, so hopefully I will make some friends and someone will be kind enough to let me stay for free with them in exchange for English lessons or something. Worst case if I don’t find a job, my return flight comes back August 29, so I am stuck here until then. I am trying not to let it get me down, but it is very difficult. I have dreamed about this trip for months, saving, and now….. nothing is certain.

Well, I am not beyond accepting help from anyone who feels so inclined! I don’t really have a choice, and I hate being a burden on Savanah, who was kind enough to let me stay with her for free already. If anyone has any ideas for me, you can email me at ginablumen@live.com.  Hopefully my next post will be more cheerful…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How I lost all my money :(

  1. It’s ok, mom. Don’t let this get you down! You are a young, fun-loving girl in a beautiful country. Make friends, dance and have a ball! Wish I was there! Love you ❤

  2. mamitasarah says:

    Gina, When I said, “¡Tienes un espíritu aventurero y te deseo lo mejor en esta aventura!” I meant it. You’re daughter’s right. Listen to her. I’m sending you an email now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

